• Home
  • /Hair Loss Classification

Hair Loss Classification

Classification for men:

Norwood classification

Hair loss varies dependently and is different from person to person. But, in order to define the nature of your hair loss, the Norwood Classification was published first time in 1975. Today, this classification has a wide use in defining the hair loss for men.



Usual model of hair loss

The usual model that was identified by Dr O’Tar Norwood, presents two areas of hair loss – above forehead and on vertex – that are steeply enlarging and exposing. At the end, the whole front part, top and vertex of the head are without hair.

Norwood class A of hair loss:

Models of Norwood class A is characterized by the hair loss that advances from frontal part of the scull to the back. The bridge of hair that connects the top of the scull is missing, and generally the loss of hair on the vertex is less extensive.

Classification for women:

Ludwig’s classification:

As for the men, the loss of hair is also different and varies from person to person. To completelly define the nature of hair loss the Ludwig’s classification was invented.


Ludwig’s classification was characterized by three phases of  women hair loss: Type I ( mild), Type II ( moderate) and Type III (Advanced). In all three phases the hair loss represents up front and on the top of head, with frontal line of the hair that is relativelly protected. Sometimes, hair loss can show up in the back of the head or on the side, but not necessarily.